Patterns

Pumpkin coasters (US terms)!

Okay, I promised on Instagram that I’d get this out today, so here it is!!

Materials:

3mm crochet hook,

A darning needle for weaving in ends,

And a suitable yarn such as scheepjes catona or cotton 8. Sock wool should work too.

This will make a pumpkin roughly 9 cm wide. If you want a different size, consider using a different size yarn and/or crochet hook.

Abbreviations:

St/sts: stitch/stitches

Slst: slip stitch

Ch: chain

Sc: single crochet

Hdc: half double crochet

Dc: double crochet

Instructions:

R1: Start by working 8 sc into a magic loop.

R2: ch1, sc in same st. [2hdc in next st, 2dc in next st, 2hdc in next st, sc in next st] twice, omit last sc. Join with a slst to 1st sc.

R3: ch1, sc in same st. [2hdc in next st, 2dc in next 4 sts, 2hdc in next st, sc in next st] twice, omit last sc. Join with a slst to 1st sc.

R4: ch1, sc in same st. [2hdc in next 2 sts, hdc in next 8 sts, 2hdc in next 2 sts, sc in next st] twice, omit last sc. Join with a slst to 1st sc.

R5: ch1, sc in same st. [2hdc in next st, (2dc in next st, dc in next st) 7 times, 2hdc in next st, sc in next st] 2 times. Join with a slst to 1st st.

R6: (sc in next 25 sts, slst) twice. The slip stitch is worked into the 1st sc from round 5.

And now for the stem:

Ch5 with a new color (I used dark brown yarn for this, but feel free to be creative with your color choices)

Sc in 2nd ch from hook, sc in next 2 chains. Join to the pumpkin by slip stitching into the slip stitch from round 5 (slip stitch ception haha)

I suggest tying a little square knot with the two loose threads from when you changed colors, as to secure them. If you don’t secure them, they will unravel.

Same goes for the tail left behind from when you tightened your magic loop.

And there you go! You now have a cute little pumpkin coaster! You can now embroider a little face on it, or leave it blank. Do whatever you want!

If you do want to make a face, you can use any style of embroidery you want. I used slip stitches because I prefer to use crochet techniques as much as possible.

When you’re finished, block your pumpkins! I didn’t in these images and you can tell how wobbly it still is before blocking. After blocking it will lay flat.

I am now blocking my pumpkins but they aren’t dry yet and I really wanted to get this pattern out today. I’ll update this with a photo of the blocked version as soon as possible!

Anyway, I hope you like this pattern and I hope you’ll come back for more!

Follow me on social media:

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/forest-elf-crochet

Instagram: https://instagram.com/forestelfrose

Etsy store: https://www.etsy.com/shop/forestelfarts

And consider donating to my PayPal if you like what I do!

Much love,

~Rose the Forest Elf

Plaats een reactie